For California janitorial clients: In California, janitorial employers are required to register with the Labor Commissioner’s office as well as provide workers with sexual harassment prevention training every two years. Hiring an unregistered contractor can result in fines up to $10,000 for the first violation and up to $25,000 for subsequent violations. Clients can use the online registration search tool to find out if a janitorial contractor is registered with the state.
For Oregon janitorial clients: janitorial employers in Oregon must have a labor contractor license from the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) and provide training about discrimination and sexual harassment in the workplace. Information about the Oregon requirements can be found on the BOLI website. You may contact the BOLI office with questions at BOLI_Help@boli.oregon.gov.
Guidance from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) on cleaning and disinfecting your facility
Guidance from the Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) for janitorial workers
Guidance from the Center for Disease Control (CDC) on limiting workplace violence associated with Covid-19 prevention policies